Why is your system the best?

Discussion in 'General' started by Kali Cowboy, Feb 7, 2008.

1. Kali Cowboy

Kali Cowboy New Member

There are so many systems out there. To a new student finding the right system for them can be mind boggling.

All systems have common threads.
    All systems do things differently, but accomplish the same thing.

Why is your system the best?

God Bless,
    Guro Stephen

2. geezer

geezer Member

The best for now...

For a long time I studied Rene Latosa's Combat Escrima. It was the best because it was simple, direct, powerful and real. Now I'm studying DTE -- Direct Torres Eskrima -- It's the best because it's helping me learn better ways to exploit angling and position, and also ways to borrow my opponent's power so I don't have to try and overpower him all the time. This helps because I'm not a big guy. I don't know what the next "best" will be, since I've got a lot to learn where I am!

3. tim_stl

tim_stl Junior Member

garimot arnis is the best for me because of the consistent emphasis on keeping yourself safe. largo mano is the specialty of the system, because you're safest when your opponent can't reach you. we're taught to avoid medio (too dangerous), and the strategy in corto is to prevent the opponent from attacking through a control, lock, or disarm, to set up the finish right away. this is also where arnis blends with buno (wrestling), which is another component of the system. buno teaches us how to manipulate the opponent to shut down his attack, and gives us the sensitivity to be aware of the attack. hilot (healing) is the final component that allows us to stay healthy and safe by fighting illness and injury.

tim

4. R. Mike Snow

R. Mike Snow Chiseled Edge

You gentlemen put out some very interested reading,