What you draw upon in your own "blend"

Discussion in 'JKD-Kali' started by KaliJoe, May 29, 2008.

1. KaliJoe

KaliJoe New Member

Hello everyone. This is my first time writing in the forum, though I have read the forums for awhile now.

I have trained in the Inosanto/Lacoste system for at least a few years now. I've also trained or have been exposed to other FMA systems (Pekiti-Tirsia and Doce Pares for instance).

Since many of us cross train in several FMA's (along with the Inosanto/Lacoste system for some of us), I am wondering what do you find yourself drawing upon in your training or sparring. Do you tend toward Pekiti, or Doce Pares, or Inosanto (or whichever style or system) while moving, attacking, defending, etc? Do you find yourself blending more, or drawing more from one particular art than the others you train? If so, what is it about that art that you like (for your own uses) more than the others?

Sincerely,

Joe

2. Phadrus00

Phadrus00 New Member

Hiya KaliJoe,

Well this is my first post in a long time so your question has inspired me to come out of hibernation! *grin*

So my background is originally in Inosanto/Lacoste, then Modern Arnis, then Doce Pares Escrima and now most recently Kombatan. In addition I train in Silat which also influences my footwork AND (now how much would you pay..) I also train and teach Tai Chi.

Do I find myself blending? Yes of course.. Is it good...well mostly.. except when I am training with my Doce Pares instructor Jason (*wave* Hello Sir!). Almost all of the other systems have pretty similar foot work. You work the Male and Female triangle pretty consistently based on the range you are in and the weapon configuration. Even for Silat training things are pretty complimentary (however my Tai Chi footwork is somewhat incongruent, but that's another post entirely!).