Valencia Lameco compared to "original" Lameco

Discussion in 'Lameco' started by Robert Robbins, Dec 19, 2008.

1. Robert Robbins

Robert Robbins New Member

Can anyone explaine the differences in the two approches? I'm new to Lameco, but have trained in a variety to FMA. Pekit-tirsia, Inosanto blend and Mr. Hocheim's version of Presas Family arnis. My training partner and I have located a Valencia Lameco Instructor very close to home. (We are in Oklahoma, any FMA is hard to find).

So is there a distinction between "Valencia Lameco and Original Lameco"?

Thanks,

New guy,

Robert

2. gagimilo

gagimilo Member

Hm, I thought I had already answered this post...

Anyways, I believe that guro Valencia might have somewhat expanded groundwork curriculum in comparison with what PG Sulite was teaching, but other than that I wouldn't really know.

3. Robert Robbins

Robert Robbins New Member

wow, I must have missed it.
    Sorry, I apologize.

I've heard the empty hand is much more Muay Thai oriented.

Thanks for your time,

Rob

4. arnisador

arnisador Active Member

What material was added--more Filipino grappling, or some BJJ or the like?

5. gagimilo

gagimilo Member

I'd say some influences from BJJ and alike grappling systems, guro Valencia has been exposed to that by living in California, after all.

Still, once more I have to stress that I am only speaking from what I have seen in some of his videos and clips of his seminars, but I do not have any first-hand experience whatsoever!

6. arnisador

arnisador Active Member

A little BJJ is good for everyone, in my opinion--it's made me feel safer when I get clinched up.

7. gagimilo

gagimilo Member

Also, judging by the guro Valencia feature in GM Rey Galang's book "Masters of the Blade", there are some other influences in the Valencia Lameco, more so in the empty-hand portion of his curriculum that with weapons.

8. Guro Dave Gould

Guro Dave Gould LAMECO ESKRIMA SYSTEM

Felix Valencia

Robert Robbins,