Tips and advice for beginners?

Discussion in 'Modern Arnis' started by Bob Hubbard, Jan 8, 2006.

1. Bob Hubbard

Bob Hubbard Darth Vindicatus Supporting Member

What advice would you give a beginner starting out in Modern Arnis?

While I don't have the benefit of decades in, I've been a newbie, and worked with quite a few of them.

My tips:
    - Be patient. It seems like a lot, but it's really just a matter of a little time.
    - When striking with the cane, think "hammer". (Got this from Rich Parsons a few years back. It helped alot!)
    - Keep your eyes open. (I hear this alot...that tendency of mine to close my eyes LOL!)

What else?

2. ryangruhn

ryangruhn New Member

"If a person can teach me one thing, they are of value to me"

Don't limit youself.

Gruhn

3. Alakd'an

Alakd'an New Member

Have Fun!

One thing I have been taught is to relax and have fun. I also teach this in our group.
    I have many years of experience with Martial Arts that teach from a boot camp mentality. It's a constant barrage of calisthetics and punishments ( more cals ) for mistakes.
    There is a place for some very tough cals and workouts. This creates discipline and work ethic, but you can lose some good students if not balanced with "relaxed motivation". When you see there progress because they desire to do well and not because of fear, you get a great attitude from them.
    Please, don't get me wrong, you have to train hard, but there are some different ways of going about it.
    Train to have fun and relax!
    Remember, "Practice is the mother of learning!" - GM Remy A. Presas.
    Salamat! Ben www.alakdanarnisador.com

4. KrissOfSweden

KrissOfSweden Member

5. arnisador

arnisador Active Member

For those coming from another martial art, it's important to recognize that you don't have to have your elbow exactly a fistlength from the body, you must move your feet more, and you're free to innovate from the beginning!