Striking template vs tactical application

Discussion in 'Pekiti-Tirsia Kali' started by JPR, Oct 26, 2005.

1. JPR

JPR New Member

My understanding of PTK tactics is that most reliance is placed upon the aggressive use of the diagonal downward forehand and diagonal downward backhand (with footwork). Yet the first 12 strikes from the basic PTK template do not have these strikes. Does anyone know why?

Jerry

2. blindside

blindside student

(Standard caution, I am a beginner in this art, and I may be talking out of my um, rear.)

Technically the backhand diagonal is contained in the first 12 (#6), but your point is well taken. Simply put, the first 12 (Abcedario) only represent one of the patterns of motion. Other groupings are also taught, if you learn under the 64 attacks curricullum, diagonal and reverse diagonal attacks are #32-35.

Lamont

3. Kalisong

Kalisong New Member

In the basic level of PTK the 12 attacks are target areas that are finishers/ Immobolizers that also address different strike patterns . If you know the 12 strikes then number 6 and 7 are downward diagonals. The 12 attacks ar the stepping stones above the multiple strikes that teach the different patterns of strikes at the most basic level.

4. Danny T

Danny T New Member

Jerry,
    PT doesn’t rely on any one aspect of striking. There are diagonal, horizontal, and vertical strikes. Diagonal strikes are prevalent within the 5 attack subsystem and in many other areas. However, the most relent strike is the one which stops the opponent, Now!

The first 12 strikes you asking of are from the Abcedario of which there are 144 strikes with a stick or sword and 144 empty hand. (once learned most can be applied with a weapon). These attacks are for learning which target to attack and how to strike the target. Horizontal, Vertical, Diagonal, or with a thrust.