Serrada and Latosa Escrima Concepts

Discussion in 'Serrada' started by geezer, Oct 5, 2007.

1. geezer

geezer Member

I studied under GM Rene Latosa, starting back in the mid '80s back when he taught 'PMAS Combat Escrima". Now it's known as "Escrima Concepts". GGM Angel Cabales was Rene's first instructor and the Latosa system still conserves many serrada movements although considerably altered to reflect Latosa's emphasis on power, "directness", and simplicity. I know that there are a lot of politics and bruised egos among the different groups with connections to Cabales, Sarmiento, Revilar and other great names inthe FMA's. But out here in the sticks, Phoenix that is, we're happy just to find another player! So, if you stay with a broad interpretation of the heritage of serrada, I guess this is the place for me to be posting. Any other Latosa Concepts people out there? And the rest of you guys...care to weigh in?

2. tsefreeflow

tsefreeflow New Member

Welcome, not sure if I would say here in Phoenix is in the sticks =0), but I guess thats interpretation.
    I figured I would just ask, but why would anyone want to or need to change a system that has been proven in battle to their own interpretations? Its not a problem if one choses to but I am just curious on why one would feel the need to? Further if you change these things you posted then its not Serrada at all, besides being only a ghost of Serrada. You also have directness in quotes, but yet in the true system of Serrada I have seen no other system as direct. I would think if you change that, then you are getting further from Serrada. Not saying Latosa is one of these, but most who change the system is because they dont have a understanding of the system. Whats your thoughts on this?

3. medic

medic Junior Member