punyo question

Discussion in 'General' started by jezah81, Mar 9, 2014.

1. jezah81

jezah81 Member

Hey guys,

What styles of Arnis is there that don't hold the stick with a punyo protruding? In JKD/Kali and doce pares we are taught to hold the stick with a fist length punyo extending out of the stick holding hand, but what are some styles that don't hold the stick with a punyo sticking out? And what are other styles that use punyo? What are pros and cons of holding the stick in both ways? Look forward to hearing some thoughts ....[​IMG]
    Cheers
    Jeremy

2. groupedmethod

groupedmethod New Member

I wouldn't know about styles that don't use a punyo, but using it is a lot better because it provides leverage, as well as more force

Talk to people who practice kendo, they'll tell you the same thing.

3. blindside

blindside student

When I studied Cabalas Serrada we didn't use a punyo. I didn't study it very long, but I am assuming the main reason was that since you are using such a short stick (18-24 inches) you want to maximize the force and range of the weapon.

4. blindside

blindside student

Maybe I don't understand, how does a length of punyo provide more force?

5. groupedmethod

groupedmethod New Member

better balance, it's much easier to return to guard following a strike

6. BayaniWarrior

BayaniWarrior New Member

Here's a video of myself explaining different ways to grip a Stick. It's always important to train with a stick in various grips and positions to truly gain an understanding of it's versatility as a striking, grappling, and shielding tool. Depending on what you are doing, the punyo can be used in a variety of ways.

[video=youtube;RyqA8_cDSbo]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RyqA8_cDSbo[/video]

Hope that helps.

Respectfully,
    Guro Mike Pana
    Chief Instructor
    www.bayaniwarrior.com

7. jezah81

jezah81 Member

Thanks for the replies.
    Jeremy

8. jspeedy

jspeedy Member