Practicing at Home

Discussion in 'Modern Arnis' started by Fiddlesticks, Oct 9, 2007.

1. Fiddlesticks

Fiddlesticks New Member

I thought it would be good to talk about how we all practice on our own outside of class. What do you do...how often do you do it...that type of thing. Hopefully it will give some people a new perspective on training at home and give people some new ideas to work into the mix.

I'm a relative newbie, so I only practice what I know: 12-angles of attack (standard, w/control and slashing), the different stick strikes (abanico, banda y banda, etc.) and the first emptyhand and stick anyos. I do the striking in air since I don't have a dummy or tire to hit.

Not much to go on but I go with what I know. I try to do these for about 1/2 hour two or three days between classes (classes are only once a week).

2. young blade

young blade New Member

When training at home, I take the chance to cross-train in other systems though books and instructional DVDs, and even online lessons. My practice time varies.

3. kabaroan

kabaroan Kabaroan

When I train at home, I do so as if I were in class going through all the warm ups and drills. I also mentally go through the rationale/explaination behind each each of our Kabaroan drills. I play close attention to proper hand placement and stick orientation. I go through all our anyos (forms) and practice siniwali drills in the air...meeting and merging techniques, etc.

I have found solo training at home to be just as beneficial as group (more than one person) training in that I can reinforce what I learned and discover the nuances of the art.

Having said that, getting together with others on non-class days is a great way to learn the art, too.

4. tellner

tellner New Member