Pekiti Tirsia and Dekiti Tirsia Sirradas???

Discussion in 'Pekiti-Tirsia Kali' started by Waltyr, Jan 31, 2006.

1. Waltyr

Waltyr Member

Greeetings,

I'm a bit confused about something that I've seen lately and I was wondering if any of the PT practioners could fill me in.
    I've read a little about the Pekiti Tirsia system and then I came across something else that read 'Dekiti-Tirsia Sirradas'. My question is what is the difference between the two systems and are they related? And if so, were they once a whole system and then split or are they 2 seperate systems that have evolved on there own??

W.v.

2. arnisador

arnisador Active Member

I'm no expert, but have done some Dekiti Tirsia Siradas. My understanding is that Pekiti Tirsia broke off from the system of the Tortal family. Jerson Tortal has explained that they then altered the name slightly for clarity, and that the D in Dekiti and P in Pekiti are essentially the same thing, pronounced slightly differently. So, Dekiti Tirsia Siradas is the original system, though not exactly its original name.

3. Waltyr

Waltyr Member

ah, I see....

So essentially they are the same system with a slight name change. Do you know if there any specific defining qualities that makes the Dekiti Tirsia and Pekiti Tirsia different? Method of training or emphasis on stick or blade (knife, pinuti, bolo sword, machette etc..) orientation?

4. arnisador

arnisador Active Member

I have only ever attended a single Pekiti Tirsia seminar, so I do not know enough to comment. I do believe both are blade-oriented.

5. blindside

blindside student