NSI Modern Arnis...

Discussion in 'Modern Arnis' started by Pitboss 306, Jun 13, 2007.

1. Pitboss 306

Pitboss 306 New Member

Howdy, I'm pretty new around here, and was wondering... does anybody here train at all with Datu Kelly Worden? Or attend Water and Steel?

I've been doing NSI for a couple years now, and it was almost a year before I found out I was actually training in an FMA! I thought it was all a mesh of kali infused JKD...

I believe he has developed his own arnis curriculum called "NSI Modern Arnis" to differentiate his own methods a bit from the Prof Presas' traditional Modern Arnis style. I know for sure he has developed his own empty hand and baston anyos. He's a pretty "American" guy, with his own uhhh.. american way of teaching, I guess.

Does anybody know if this is accurate, or is what Kelly teaches pretty close to the traditional Modern Arnis?

2. arnisador

arnisador Active Member

I went to part of his recent three-day seminar here in Indiana, and I certainly recognized the Modern Arnis in what he was doing. But, I don't know much about his system!

3. Brian R. VanCise

Brian R. VanCise Senior Member Supporting Member

When Bill Bednarick and Matt Lamphere log on next they can give you a better overview because they both train with Kelly Worden.

4. Bill Bednarick

Bill Bednarick Junior Member

Howdy Pitboss!

I'll do my best to answer your questions, but I'm not a Modern Arnis guy so technical comparison of Datu Worden's Modern Arnis Anyos and the Modern Arnis Anyos as taught by Professor Presas isn't going to happen.

He teaches the Modern Arnis Anyos and some of his own that include material that he teaches that is not from Professor Presas.

What I will ask is a question about what "traditional Modern Arnis", would it be.
    Is it when Professor started teaching in the States and Canada? Would it be when he was teaching in the Phillipines?
    If it's the post-Phillipines era, which era was it over here?