new member, looking to train FMA in Sydney, Australia.

Discussion in 'Meet & Greet' started by bengs, Nov 13, 2007.

1. bengs

bengs New Member

Good day

My name is Ben, I am a 22 year old from Sydney, Australia.

I've been training in various martial arts for about 6 or 7 months now. I was studying Wing Chun Kung Fu for about 5 months, and I've also had very brief instruction in Hapkido. My current interest is taking up Thai Boxing, which is what I'm going to start taking from this week, after a extended period of downtime from fitness in general due to a rib injury.

You might ask why I'm on a FMA forum then, but in the last few months since I first took up Wing Chun my interest in martial arts has grown and I am always learning about new styles and branches out there. I haven't had any experience in FMA to this point, but I am looking to take up a class. The problem for me is I can only make it to Saturday classes due to work and study commitments throughout the week, so that might be why I haven't had much luck finding a class to join. I know there is an academy of Doce Pares in Sydney who focus on Kali Stick fighting which I am considering, but I was hoping to find a class for Suntukan, Panantukan, Mano Mano, Balintawak, or other primarily empty handed / boxing styles. I hope somebody here may possibly be able to help me in locating classes for any of the above in Sydney?

Anyway, thanks for your time.

Regards,
    Ben.

2. silat1

silat1 Active Member

Give Ray Floro a call.. He is in Sydney and is the best thing in FMA that Oz has. He has trained with a lot of the senior people in the Philippines and is top notch..

Bill

3. bengs

bengs New Member

Thank you for your response. I'll take a look and try to find some contact details for Mr Floro.

4. kuntawguro

kuntawguro -== Banned ==-

rfloro@loadednet.com.au

There ya go- contact the man and be prepared to be a FMA junkie- it gets in your blood
    Buzz

5. arnisador

arnisador Active Member