Need Help finding a school

Discussion in 'General' started by markymarkd, Mar 7, 2014.

1. markymarkd

markymarkd New Member

Hi Everyone. I'm new to this forum. I've been looking to study Eskrima for a short time but have been a bit disappointed to find limited instruction all over the U.S. Well, there seem to be a few more folks teaching in California. Anyway, I found a few studios that teach Eskrima. One specifically follows Doce Paris. The other two I have no knowledge of but they teach Tae Kwon Do along with Eskrima. Has anyone here heard of either of these places? Also, I'm considering studying Kenpo and Eskrima or Judo and Eskrima if I can find individual classes for Eskrima that aren't part of a program. I belive two of the three dojos listed have separate classes. ABQ, who I have already spoken to, told me that they've been getting a lot of requests for a second evening class while blackman already has two or three classes. Can anyone comment on crosstraining with Eskrima? That would help me a lot. I feel drawn toward Kenpo, Kajukenpo, TKD, and Judo.

http://www.blackmantkd.com/

http://www.takaiminekarate.com/index.htm

http://www.abqkickboxing.com/default.html

Any feedback would be most helpful. I haven't had a chance to visit and I'm also looking at a few other dojos for crosstraining. Me and my boys will be going and will also probably be making the decision as a family but it would help to have some guidance. I know Doce Paris is a good system and the other two aren't giving much information about their lineage.

Mark

2. groupedmethod

groupedmethod New Member

Don't know much about the ABQ area, but here's some general tips

Ask to sit in on some lessons so you can decide if they're good or not. While sitting in, pay attention to what the instructor says, and judge for yourself if you think he's full of **** or not.