Me: The 10-cent tour

Discussion in 'Meet & Greet' started by ap Oweyn, Nov 13, 2005.

1. ap Oweyn

ap Oweyn Member

Hello there. Stuart here. I started studying martial arts about 23 years ago, with taekwondo. I'm a bit of a mutt. Practiced some boxing, kickboxing, JKD, Western fencing, and a smattering of Shotokan karate. In addition to FMA of course.

I began studying Doce Pares arnis in 1989. With the Patalinghug family, just outside of Baltimore, Maryland. Trained with the Patalinghugs exclusively for about 6 years. Then I started studying Inosanto kali (for lack of a better term) with Guro Pat Finley, also in Maryland. Now I'm practicing with a Modern Arnis group in Northern Virginia, headed by Guro Roman Picardo.

I suppose that's about it. Unless anybody has anything they particularly want to know.

Cheers.

Stuart

2. arnisador

arnisador Active Member

Welcome!

How did you find the Inosanto blend kali? Many JKD styles are criticized for having just the surface aspects of the FMA in their stickwork, but I understand that Dan Inosanto teaches a full system.

3. ap Oweyn

ap Oweyn Member

He probably does teach a full system. But I think that it's a fair criticism to be completely honest. I don't think "surface" aptly describes Guro Dan's understanding of FMA. But kali does sometimes get treated more as an attribute-building exercise in JKD than it does a comprehensive system. So you might do a bunch of sinawali drills "to build coordination" and a bunch of knife sparring "to develop footwork." But there might not be a cohesive progression of skills.

I think my teacher felt the same way, because when I last spoke to him, he'd consolidated a lot of his teaching. Presumably so as to avoid the "technique of the moment" syndrome.