Lua

Discussion in 'The Den' started by The Phalanx, Jun 24, 2009.

1. The Phalanx

The Phalanx FMA's Frank Lucas

I was looking up about Lua... The Hawaiian Martial Art... I seen some footage and the ideology of the art is very similar to FMA...

Anyone ever tried this art or have any knowledge about it?

2. arnisador

arnisador Active Member

I have a book on it at home and watched the recent episode of Warriors (the series hosted by Terry Schappert) that featured it. It looks interesting, but I have no first-hand knowledge of it!

3. The Phalanx

I saw the show as well but I knew about Lua prior to it... But I could never find anything else about it... Just general info and stuff...

4. sjansen

sjansen New Member

The grabbing the spear when it is thrown at you is some cool stuff. I saw it on warriors as well. I'd just have some trouble learning it. It is great historically, but doesn't have a whole lot of real world application.

Do you think that they still do it for historical correctness or to learn the body dynamics so that they can grab punches and get to the arm breaks?

It'd be nice to hear from someone who has trained in it.

5. silat1

silat1 Active Member

When I was in Chicago, John had a LUA instructor who taught regularly at the school. First time I saw his application of techniques, I thought it was Kajukenbo until I was told different. The instructor was top notch and if I had more time, I would have had taken the classes with him along with the dekiti tirsia that John teaches.. Lua is a hardcore art, reminded me of old school training.

6. The Phalanx

The one thing I would like to know is does it have any modern street/ring/cage applications?

7. silat1

silat1 Active Member