LSA, Disarms, and Full Power Strikes

Discussion in 'Lightning Scientific Arnis' started by BayaniWarrior, May 24, 2008.

1. BayaniWarrior

BayaniWarrior New Member

Hey everyone. I have a question regarding LSA and the disarms it teaches. I was reading one of the older posts on this forum "Lightning Scientific Arnis: A True Stick Art", which discussed how LSA focused on true power in its stick strikes.

I studied LSA several years ago over the course of 8 months intensively with Master Romy Santos. Since I moved back to the US however, there are no LSA schools near me (which I hope changes). After looking at my LSA notes recently, I noticed a section on disarms. Now, when I was studying LSA, emphasis was always on full power, full speed strikes from the beginning up to the time I left. Power, speed, and technique were emphasised. I feel this is one of the reasons why LSA so devastating. However, I learned the disarms in LSA, which were against half-power strikes. I think this video can demonstrate this: http://youtube.com/watch?v=m0OMcQxeLwY

Please keep in mind that I am not criticizing LSA. I want to study it again myself. It's just that, during my LSA days, I learned these disarms, yet when I began sparring I realized I couldn't pull off any of them in real time against full power strikes from a committed opponent. Are there any videos that demonstrate these disarms in real time so I can understand their application better? I assume I'd have to crash in and close the gap, I was just wondering if any of you LSA guys and girls could help me with this.

Thanks.

Respectfully,
    Mike Pana

2. Shaun

Shaun New Member

L.S.A.I disarms

Hi Mike,what the video actually "demonstrates" is as it says on the title:
    "L.S.A.I. Instructional Video",meaning that in order to impart knowledge to students in a manner that is easy to understand ,it is best to do this slowly or at "half-speed".