Linage

Discussion in 'JKD-Kali' started by JPR, Nov 17, 2005.

1. JPR

JPR New Member

Ok, what type of JKD-Kali do you do?

2. arnisador

arnisador Active Member

I train in Paul Vunak's style, but I'm away this year and am studying under a teacher who is in Dan Inosanto's style now.

3. JohnJ

JohnJ Senior Member

I am just curious what stye you are referring to. Aside from Paul's PFS curriculum or his RAT program, did he evolve his Kali methods specifically to formulate something other than Inosanto Blend Kali which he learned from Dan Inosanto?

John J
    www.swacom.com

4. arnisador

arnisador Active Member

I'm a student, not an instructor, but I can tell you what I see. I study under one of Paul Vunak's senior people. His JKD style is is the PFS curriculum which includes the RAT program. There is Kali in it, but as far as weapons go it's very basic--simple block-check, sumbrada, a couple of disarms built into certain routines, a few patterns (e.g. amora) and sinawalis, several stick grappling techniques (possibly influence by my instructor's BJJ background?), plus some knife work that's mostly knife-on-knife dueing. However, in empty-hands there's a lot of dumog and many drills practiced out of hubbud.

5. ap Oweyn

ap Oweyn Member

My teacher is (was?) certified by Guro Dan, so I suppose Inosanto Kali is as good a term as any other. (I hate the term "Inosanto Blend." Sounds like coffee.)

In stylistic terms, I'm not really sure how to chalk all that up. I came from a Doce Pares background prior to Inosanto Kali. I feel like the latter did more knife emphasis. And that the empty hand was informed by a lot of the other influences in the JKD camp (muay thai, boxing, jun fan, etc.)