kumusta ka

Discussion in 'Meet & Greet' started by silat1, Feb 14, 2007.

1. silat1

silat1 Active Member

Well, since I have been asked to join this group by guro buzz smith, I figured I might as well indulge and add my two cents in by introducing myself.

My name is Bill Anderson and I am a FMA Junkie.
    I started training in the FMA back in the early 70's when I lived in the Pampanga region of central luzon.. I have studied various forms of FMA and Kuntao/Kuntaw over the last 30 or so years.. I have served in the US Military (retired in 92) and went from the military into private security and law enforcement.. I was promoted to instructor level by GM Carlito Lanada and GM Rafael Reston in Baraw Defensa (Comjuka Kenpo) and Maharlika Kuntaw in the mid 70's..

In the past 30 or so years my focus in teaching the fma has been to the military and the law enforcement/ security personnel a viable way to protect themselves when the fecal matter hits the oscillating mechanism.

I go to the Philippines at least once every 2 years, sometimes more when time allows for additional training and to help keep the wheels of GM Reston's Baraw defensa organization lubricated.. Master Reston died in august of 06 and from what I am aware of there are only two people in the states that teaches his baraw defensa system.. I was promoted to 5th level instructor in Master Reston's system in 03 after being with him for more than 30 yrs.. In baraw defensa (reston method)all ranks after 5th dan/level are honorary.