Knife Rights Alert: US ATTEMPTS TO RE-DEFINE SWITCHBLADES, MAY CHANGE KNIFE LEGALITY

Discussion in 'The Den' started by jwinch2, Jun 7, 2009.

1. jwinch2

jwinch2 Member

http://www.kniferights.org/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=81&Itemid=1

I make no claims as to the actuality of such events unfolding as I am not a lawyer, but I wanted to make sure everyone knew about this. If you have not joined knife rights and are FMA artists, it may be time for you to consider joining...

Cheers,

2. arnisador

arnisador Active Member

Ouch! This would knock out a great many people's everyday carry!

3. Worm Dirt

Worm Dirt New Member

The true irony is that any suggested legislation is based off perception and not fact. For those who know first hand or research the issue clearly recognize that ordinary KITCHEN knives form the weapon of choice in a significant (if not most) amount of edged weapon incidents.

Then again, screwdrivers, hypodermic syringes, and chisels are not uncommon... Often environmentally driven.

Criminals by nature aren't going to invest in something expensive, like a nice knife, and hardly need the luxury of one handed opening options. They'll already have the blade deployed before making an aggressive act.

The same uneducated assertions are made regarding gun control. Criminals are what they are. You can take away all the guns and knives in the world and they'll commit heinous acts with whatever the can get a hand on. The only people that will mind the laws are the law abiding anyway.

4. sjansen

sjansen New Member