Introducing myself

Discussion in 'Meet & Greet' started by JayFrasier, Jan 11, 2010.

1. JayFrasier

JayFrasier New Member

Hi everyone,

Someone suggested that I introduce myself so that you all will know I did not join the forum to just "hawk" somebody's products. So, let me tell you how I came to find this forum.

I've been interested in the martial arts since watching "Kung Fu" when I was a kid. I studied Isshinryu Karate when I was in high school. I did not practice any martial arts again until a few years ago when I decided I had become way too sedentary. So, I started studying Taekwondo at the only martial arts school in my small town.

During the time I was studying Taekwondo, I purchased two videotapes from Stadion Publishing, one on stretching and one on high kicks. I also subscribed to their e-newsletter. This will become relevant in a moment.

I no longer study Taekwondo. I currently study Chen style Tai Chi, and I just started taking a class in Shorin-ryu Karate (mainly because I can do so for free). I've also spent a bit of time training with a friend who is certified to teach JKD, though he is not currently teaching. I hope to resume studying with him if/when he begins teaching again.

A few years ago (I think), in the Stadion Publishing newsletter, they gave an excellent review of Ray Floro's "The Essential Ray Floro" DVD set. At the time, it sounded interesting to me, but I was already exhausting my "martial arts budget" each month with the fee for my Taekwondo classes. So, I did not order the set.

Then, a couple of weeks ago, I saw a mention on another website of the Ray Floro DVDs.

This piqued my curiosity and led me to look up Ray Floro's website. I decided to go ahead and order his DVD set. My plan is to work on learning the information on the DVDs as well as I can at home with my wife and son. I have not received the DVDs yet, but I have watched some of the downloads of the lessons on my computer.