Inosanto Kali and Sayoc Kali

Discussion in 'JKD-Kali' started by jayMa, Feb 13, 2007.

1. jayMa

jayMa New Member

I know that Sayoc Kali is more of a knife art. Inosanto Kali has several sub systems within the art. Can anyone tell me the differences between the Inosanto Kali knife subsystem and Sayoc Kali.

Thanks

2. arnisador

arnisador Active Member

From what I know of them, the Sayoc version is much more comprehensive.

3. Brock

Brock Asha'man

This is my understanding as well.

4. qupqugiak

qupqugiak New Member

inosanto vs. sayoc kali

i'm no expert in either, but with my limited experience of sayoc and inosanto knife systems, it has seemed like when you remove the interlap (i.e., the line recognition and energy feeder based drills), the sayoc have a much stronger emphasis on target recognition (i.e., vital templates) as opposed to straight angular recognition / defense and response.

like i said, i'm certainly not an expert, but thought i'd offer my $0.02.

link

5. Grand Dragon

Grand Dragon New Member

From what I have seen/trained we basically have single dagger, and double dagger, tip up and tip down, and the variations therein. There are set routines using the single dagger against double, and double against double, and empty hands versus the blade.
    Generally speaking, there is not much variation between the movements we perform with the stick, and/or stick and dagger. That is, we basically slash and thrust similarly (including palasuts,panastas, gunting, wasliks, etc) and even more importantly we use essentially the same targets.
    For example, if we train against an angle one, stick versus stick, whatever technique we do is repeated with the blades.
    So there's basically not too much variation.
    In contrast, Sayoc Kali is defintiely intended to not be based on the stick based numbering/target systems.