Hello from Reno NV

Discussion in 'Meet & Greet' started by London, Oct 4, 2010.

1. London

London New Member

thank you all for the wonderful forum. I'm brand new and just learning my way around.
    I'm a life-long martial artist of a variety of disciplines (martial arts gypsy I guess). As well as an avid sport shooter (action pistol, precision tactical rifle and CQB carbine).

When in Hawaii I was introduced to the fascinating world of FMA by the late Snookie Sanchez. I studied with Maestro Sanchez for only a couple of years but the experience left me profoundly changed in the way I look at weapon arts and martial arts in general. Finally after more than 15 years I had to opportunity to attend a Valencia LAMECO 2-day seminar and lets say I have a renewed vigor for studying the FMA's again. Sadly there is no school of FMA in the Reno NV area so my plan is to learn anything and everything I can on the subject and to form an unofficial FMA study group here so that I at least have some folks to practice with in my home town.

I found this forum when searching for more detailed information on LAMECO and found some great posts by Guro Dave Gould.

Looking forward to interacting with you all on the forums and in the gym.
    Many thanks,

London

2. jwinch2

jwinch2 Member

http://www.bahalana.com/

http://www.csus.edu/org/fmac/

http://www.docepares.net/

Lots of great FMA in Sacramento which seems to be just a couple of hours away. And also there is a TON of great FMA in the Oakland-SF area. You may be able to drive down once a week or so and start a training group in your area. I am in a similar situation as you and that is the route I am going.

Good luck!

3. London

London New Member

outstanding! thank you Jwinch2

4. jwinch2

jwinch2 Member