hello from illinois

Discussion in 'Meet & Greet' started by khand50, Feb 8, 2010.

1. khand50

khand50 New Member

i am a member of martial talk and found this forum while visiting there. the filipino arts have captured my interest since the early seventies when reading about dan inosanto and richard bustillo. in the late seventies i visited the filipino kali academy and met dan, richard, and paul vunak, who was a young student there at the time. i wanted to live there...lol. but wasnt able to train there.
    a few years later i got to train with dan at a seminar in chicago at the degerberg academy. it was a great seminar. i finallly learned the sinawali that weekend. i knew the basic 12 strikes, blocks and disarms from reading dan's book over and over again, trying to work out the movements with friends. i didnt get anymore training with anyone until 1991 when i started training at the sdma academy in west palm beach. that year gave me about seven more filipino seminars, including another one with dan. there were some with bo and chris sayoc, gm d. canete and guro dong cuesta, and a richard bustillo seminar. we practiced escrima in class as well.
    i was assistant instructor at the academy and later given permission to teach jkd by the late ed pagan. i have trained in numerous other systems of martial art as well in the past 40 years. currently i am seeking out an instructor of filipino arts so i can progress further. there is one two hours south of me in bloomington il and i hope to get with his class as soon as i can. i know enough of the basics to keep myself going and can learn quite a bit from videos because of the foundation i have, but i prefer to learn from someone who has already been there.....
    ive got several videos and books on various filipino systems and i like to study the history and philosophy of the arts as well.