Grouped or Ungrouped

Discussion in 'Balintawak' started by Epa, Oct 18, 2005.

1. Epa

Epa Member

I'm new to Balintawak and I was curious about how different people train the art. I've heard that it is taught either in groupings (mainly students of Jose Villasin and Teofilo Velez) and in a more free flow random way (as Anciong Bacon taught the art).

I was wondering are all the groupings the same or do different orgs/clubs use different groupings?

For those of you who may have trained both ways:

What are some of the advantages and disadvantages of training in the grouped method of Balintawak as opposed to the more random style of teaching?

Do you think it really matters which way a person is trained or are the two methods interchangable?

Thanks,
    Eric

2. Rich Parsons

Rich Parsons Member

Hey Eric!

I have not trained in the grouped method you mentioned. I have trained in the ungrouped method and I enjoy it and find it a way to not fall into patterns but to be able to react or lead the opponent.

Now to confuse the issue even more, GM Moncal and maybe others have used the term Modified. My understanding via the Late GM Remy Presas and Manong Ted Buot is that the Modified contains techniques or drills that GM Anciong Bacon did not use or teach.

As to Grouped, I can imagine that it gives people a good series of techniques to practice.

Looking forward to hearing some feedback from the other groups.

3. PeteNerd

PeteNerd Member

I have explored both methods of teaching and I think it's really a matter of preference, and i'll try to explain it as i understand and also interject a lot of my own opinions. I started trained mostly with Henry Jayme using the Velez grouped method of training but I also visited Bobby Tambina in Manila watched his classes twice and had one lesson with him. He teaches the ungrouped or original method.