Greetings from Miami, FL

Discussion in 'Meet & Greet' started by menriquez, Apr 6, 2008.

1. menriquez

menriquez New Member

Hello everyone,

I hope this message finds you all in great health and great spirits!

My name's Marc and I'm an American born Filipino. I have no formal training but am very enthusiastic about Eskrima as it is part of our martial heritage. I'm here seeking to become better educated about history and tradition, discipline/respect, philosophy, and techniques. Unfortunately, there aren't many resources around my physical area for me to learn from.

I am a certified instructor of the traditional Korean Soo Bahk Do™ system, from the Moo Duk Kwan® organization, and absolutely love the system. I'd just like to connect with more with my heritage too.

I look forward to all our future scholarly exchanges. Salamat at Mabuhay!

2. arnisador

arnisador Active Member

Welcome! I'm sure someone would be able to help you find a local FMAer?

I don't know the Korean arts as well...is Soo Bahk Do a form of Tae Kwon Do?

3. menriquez

menriquez New Member

Hey! Thanks for the welcoming remarks!

Actually, our system (founded in 1945) is one of the predecessors to Taekwondo... Taekwondo was a government movement started in 1961 to turn the martial arts community into martial athletes.

Our founder didn't want to go along with this, feeling that the movement would devalue the type of respect that you gain with traditional training...

At our school we have a saying that people generally tend to agree with: "The difference between martial sports and martial arts is the same as the difference between sportsmanship and real respect: though you may smile or say kind words to another person, if ultimately your goal is to be better than someone else, it's not the same as real respect."