Foundations of Inosanto blend and Lacoste Q.

Discussion in 'JKD-Kali' started by Buwaya, Feb 17, 2006.

1. Buwaya

Buwaya Senior Member

I think I've heard in the past that there are five major influences on Inosanto blend and 24 lesser influences. Anybody know whats considered the five major influences?

Second question, I'm curious if anyone is able to distinguish what aspects, applications, exercises and strategies are specificly from Jaunito Lacoste.

Thanks.

2. Epa

Epa Member

I had not heard of five major influences on Guro Dan's system, but this might be because I'm a relatively new student of his (only been training with him since the 90s). Since I've been training with him, he's listed eight primary influences which are (in no particular order):

1.) Regino Ilustrisimo

2.) Juanito (John) Lacoste

3.) Leo Giron (long range)

4.) Leo Gaje

5.) Pedro Apilado

6.) Max Sarmiento (empty hands)

7.) Jack Santos

8.) Edgar Sulite

These are taken from my notes at the 2004 instructor's conference, so this is a pretty recent list. I've copied down some of Guro Dan's other instructor lists and they all seem to be a little bit different regarding who is listed. I think part of this is that lists are written at different times and not updated. One list broke down most of his instructors into categories on how much they influenced his personal system.

Those listed as major included the eight listed above as well as:
    1. Tedero Ramos
    2. John Evangelista
    3. Vincent Evangelista
    4. Pasquall Ovales (sp?)
    5. Lucky Lucaylucay
    6. Sam Tendencia
    7. Ising Attilo
    8. Cacoy Canete
    9. Gilbert Tenio
    10. Ben Largusa
    11. Telesporo Subingsubing
    12. Floro Villabrille

Those listed as minor influences:
    1. Bo Sayoc and Family
    2. Rev. Evangelista Jr.
    3. Braulio Pedoy
    4. Emil Saturion

Those listed as little to no influence:
    1. Mel Subitan (sp?)
    2. Greg Lontanyao (sp?)
    3. John Eliab
    4. Dentoy Revillar