FMA in JKD.

Discussion in 'General' started by cfr, Jul 7, 2008.

1. cfr

cfr New Member

Greetings. Some JKD schools (mainly PFS I beleive) also throw some FMA in the mix. How does the FMA in those schools differ from the FMA in a full time FMA school? I of course realize this is a very broad question, and there is no blanket answer for all schools.

2. Brock

Brock Asha'man

That's a very tough question because, as you said, it varies by teacher. If the instructor has a FMA background then it's very much like whatever style they've learned, but possibly explained using JKD terminology. If the instuctor doesn't have a FMA background then their FMA may be very basic if they have any at all.

3. arnisador

arnisador Active Member

Where I studied (a PFS school) it was fairly rudimentary and focused mostly on improving body mechanics as well as basic weapon familiarity. But, the instructor knew more from Dan Inosanto seminars etc. and would work that in occasionally. Still, it was far from a full and complete intro. to FMA, and even relatively senior stduents would still hit wit the "belly of the blade" unintentionally at times!

4. corwin137

corwin137 Slayer of knuckledraggers

As with a lot of things, I've gotten them first discreetly, then integrated the ideas.

5. geezer

geezer Member

Help me out here. What's "PFS"? I confess, I'm a little confused by the whole JKD thing. My very limited exposure comes from a worn, 35 year old copy of The Tao of Jeet Kune Do, some old books by Dan Inosanto, and a smattering of outdated magazine articles.