Experts opinion

Discussion in 'Kali Ilustrisimo' started by olisijuan, Mar 17, 2010.

1. olisijuan

olisijuan New Member

HI EVERYONE, I WANT TO KNOW YOUR TECHNICAL OPINION ABOUT THIS PERFOMANCE ON KALIS ILUSTRISMO, IS HE DOING IT OK? OR ARE THERE TECHNICAL MATTERS THAT CAN BE COMMENTED
    THANX

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2LX3u1zolTg

2. Raul

Raul Mananandata

It doesn't look Ilustrisimo to me. Where did he learn his KI? He moves like a self-taught JKD.

3. olisijuan

olisijuan New Member

I cant tell where he learn it...isnt he striking the 12 basic angles on KI?? is there any mistake during his perfomance?? i mean to do carrenza with a machete you can cut yourself if you are not skilled enough, can you give me the reason why you think is jkd??

4. Raul

Raul Mananandata

First off, the salutation isn't KI, I don't know if the other kalis offshoots have this salutation. Second, the 12 strikes is generic to most systems and can't be used as a distinct feature qualifying someone as a KI practitioner. Next, I don't want to critique anybody's skill from watching his solo forms but if I have to demo a KI movement, I would not do it solo - it must be a paired practice. If he was showing a paired demo, it will be clear where and from whom he got his KI training. There are solo forms distinct to Ilustrisimo practitioners that shows a glimpse of the depth of knowledge the practitioners has. It can't be faked because it's never taught and if somebody tries to mimic the movements, then it will be the same movements that will reveal if he's a real Ilustrisimo or not.
    His diverse styles and interests remind me of JKD guys, not that being a JKD guy is bad, just a thought. I don't even think its JKD but I feel his stuff are somehow JKD stuff.

5. First off I'll preface my post by saying that I am far from an expert. I have experience of seeing a few things from Ilustrisimo and learning a few other things from the system's 2nd most senior student.