Dekiti footwork

Discussion in 'Dekiti Tirsia Siradas' started by selfcritical, Aug 2, 2007.

1. selfcritical

selfcritical New Member

In the youtube videos, there are several comments that dekiti tirsia does not ascribe to triangular footwork, instead having what they claim is a "more combatative footwork". In the videos of nene moving, he appears to be stepping on the classic 45 degree angles. How in method does the dekiti footwork differ?

2. arnisador

arnisador Active Member

I am no expert, but coming from Modern Arnis which heavily emphasizes the triangles I noticed in the seminars I took that DTS uses a form of footwork that tends to first step triangularly with one foot, then swing around the other foot to end up facing the opponent from his side, having turned at least 90 degrees. Frankly, it reminded me a bit of aikido!

3. truth_be_told

truth_be_told -== Banned ==-

from what seen between its counterparts, Both triangle footwork with different ranges in mind.

DTS seem like distance range.

Swing back foot thing keeps body in line.
    Another triangle formation of the body.

Think like centre line also
    think like keeping less body target exposed.

so u may have the triangle in the footwork orientation &
    u may have the triangle in the bodywork orientation
    both coordinated align potential generate powerstrike inherent.

concept of going to opp blind spot there in.
    ie if go right side, step right leg, right shoulder aligned

Alignment allows ROM (range of motion) for multiple attackers from your own blindspot. seem good taken care for multiple 2. hope u get what is meant.

4. R. Mike Snow

R. Mike Snow Chiseled Edge

Halo everyone,

"Truth be told", you are right on.

Biginnig the "contradas" are more circular and Medio, an exaggeration of the lines with the footwork. So the new practitioners will learn coordination, footwork and body mechanics to avoid the attack. This is why the "Arnisador" is correct that it was reminiscent of Aikido.