Arnis, Kali, Escrima - Part 1 of 3 By Peter Freedman

Discussion in 'E-Zine Articles' started by Bob Hubbard, Apr 27, 2010.

1. Bob Hubbard

Bob Hubbard Darth Vindicatus Supporting Member

Arnis, Kali, Escrima - Part 1 of 3 By Peter Freedman

Hello to all in Bu-Jutsu - Wushu - Martial Arts community

I wanted to mention something that I have been feeling inside of me for a very long time now over the passing years in which I have been a student of the Martial Arts. I have had the pleasure to study many Martial Arts during my life and meet some really amazing Grand Masters.

I have noticed that there seems to be weird energy that sometimes comes up amongst Martial Artists when paired up together, either in training or conversation. It really disturbs me when I see this. What I am talking about is that sometimes when I meet other instructors or students of other styles of martial arts, they seem to be very arrogant. They seem as what they are practicing is the best thing since sliced bread or chicken soup with egg noodles. Now I am hungry...

My point here is this, why can't we all just get along and be humble? Why can't we share our knowledge with each other with open minds & most importantly, open hearts?

Let's try our very best to outdo ourselves by helping each other to become better. Let's share the true art of whatever it is you have to offer.

You see over the years, all Martial Arts I have seen being taught to the public seems as though it has been watered down or at least has lost its true nature of combat application. By combat application, I mean the science of how it all works in life, nature, and in battle.

It seems to me that the healthy benefits of the mind, body and spirit has become a thing of the past and this hurts me to see this happen. Where is the humility?